预防HIV的PREP药物

让你保持HIV阴性的药片

PrEP是一项令人振奋的生物医学开发成果,这种药物已经在我们终止HIV的努力中发挥了关键作用。自2018年4月被列入PBS (Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme)以来,现在几乎人人都可以获得这种药物!

什么是PREP?

PrEP的全称是“接触传染源前的预防”。它需要HIV 阴性人士服用抗逆转录病毒药物来保护自己,预防感染HIV。按处方服用时,PrEP对预防HIV感染高度有效。

与潜在接触HIV之后服用的PEP(接触传染源后的预防)药物不同的是,在潜在接触HIV之前至少需要服用第一剂PrEP药物。

在服用PrEP时,你必须是HIV阴性。因此,在你开始服用PrEP之前,一定要做HIV检测。你还应该做衣原体、淋病和梅毒等其它STIs(性传播感染)的检测,并且接受肾脏健康评估。给你开PrEP处方的医生会在第一次预约时与你一起完成这些事项。在此之后,你需要每三个月做一次检查。

PrEP对预防HIV十分有效,但并不能预防其它STIs,了解这一点十分重要。如果你对STIs感到担心,可以考虑使用安全套之类的其它预防方法。

PREP适合谁服用?

建议具有感染HIV风险的人服用PrEP。如果你属于以下情况,就可能有风险:

  • 你是一个与其他男子肛交的男子(无论是顺性别还是跨性别),而且并不一定使用安全套
  • 你有一个HIV阳性的异性恋伴侣,你们想要生小孩
  • 有一个HIV阳性、但未达到不可检测的病毒载量的伴侣,你们不一定使用安全套
  • 你注射药物

如果你属于跨性别或性别多样化,那么推荐给你的唯一用药方法每日服用PrEP。

目前只推荐能够预计何时性爱或延迟性爱的顺性别男子按需服用PrEP药物。

每日服用、按需服用还是按期服用 - 我应该怎样服用PREP?

在最初推出PrEP时,对每个人的建议都是每天服用。自此以来,已有研究发现服用PrEP的新方法与每日服药的方法一样有效。

如今,PrEP可以每天服用、按需服用或按期服用。同样的药片,只是服药方法不同而已。

每日服用PrEP

每日服用PrEP是人人都可以使用的一种选择。这种方法十分简单 - 每天服用1片,就可以获得持续的保护。

出于一系列的原因,每日服用PrEP的方法可能适合许多人。如果你想预防HIV,又不想预计自己下一次性接触的时间;如果你通常性生活频繁,或只是更喜欢有规律服药带来的条理性,那么每日服用PrEP可能就适合你。

如何安全地开始每日服用PrEP随你的身份而异。

对于与男子发生性行为的顺性别男子:

  • 至少在性爱2小时前服用2片(双倍剂量),然后
  • 在这次双倍剂量后每24小时服用1片

对于其他所有人(如与其他男子发生性行为的跨性别人士):

  • 在性爱前7整天,每天服用1片,然后
  • 在这次双倍剂量后每24小时服用1片

按需服用PrEP

目前没有足够的研究证明这种方法在其他群体中的疗效,因此只推荐与其他男子发生性行为的顺性别男子按需服用PrEP药物

按需服用PrEP适用于不常发生性关系的男子或者能够计划或推迟性爱时间(至少2小时)的男子。如果你的性行为次数不多,没有必要每天服用药物,或者你担心有副作用,那么按需服用PrEP可能就适合你。

对于按需服用PrEP而言,服药时间极其重要。

按需服用PrEP时,请使用2-1-1服药时间表:

  • 在性爱之前的2-24小时之间服用2片(双倍剂量),然后
  • 在这次双倍剂量的24小时之后服用1片,然后。
  • 在此24小时之后再服1片

如果你继续发生性行为,就继续每天服用1片,直到最后一次约炮的两天之后为止。

如果你要采用这种方法,先要跟给你开处方的医生讨论,务必要明白服药的时间。

按期服用PrEP

如果你不想或不需要长期服用PrEP,那么按期服用PrEP可能是一个不错的选择。按期服用PrEP时,在想要预防HIV的期间每天服用一片即可。时间可长可短,取决于你  – 通常是在你认为自己可能会有很多性爱的时候。

使用按期服用PrEP的方法随你的身份而异。

对于与男子发生性行为的顺性别男子,开始时:

  • 至少在性爱2小时前服用2片(双倍剂量),然后
  • 在这次双倍剂量后每24小时服用1片

然后在停止时,在最后一次约炮后:

  • 每天服用1片,为期2天。

对于其他所有人(如与其他男子约炮的跨性别人士),开始时:

  • 在性爱前7整天,每天服用1片

然后在停止时,在最后一次约炮后:

  • 每天服用1片,为期28天。

我可以从哪里获得PREP药物?怎样可以获得这种药物?

通过澳大利亚医护系统获得PrEP药物

如果你是澳大利亚居民幷且持有现时有效的Medicare卡,你就可以通过药品补贴计划(PBS)按补贴价格获得PrEP药物。这就是说,任何医生或全科医生都可以给你开PrEP处方,然后你可以将处方拿到任何药店配药(领药),也可以浏览‘PrEP Access Now’网站,了解其他廉宜的选择。请注意:如果你看的医生不提供包帐服务,你可能需要支付医生的诊费。

通过个人从海外购买获得PrEP药物

如果你无法通过Medicare获得PrEP药物,你可以有另一种选择,就是向可靠的海外供货商购买非专利品牌药物。在网上订购之前,你仍然需要获得医生的处方。有许多供货商都按一系列的价格向澳大利亚发售PrEP药物。有关详情,请浏览PrEP Access Now(现在获得PrEP药物)网站。你可以一次购买几个月的PrEP,从而节省运费,一定要看看不同的网站,找个好价钱。你可以在网上购买很多不同的药物,一定要确保所订购的药物与医生开具的处方上的药物相同。

通过PBS计划获得PREP药物的费用是多少?

与通过PBS计划购买的其他所有药物一样,有Medicare卡和医生处方的任何人在药店取PrEP药物时都必须支付PBS共同付款。每个处方的最高费用已从$40.30增至$41.00,对于优惠卡持有者,每个处方的最高费用已从$6.50增至$6.60。

PREP常见问题

我怎样可以找到能够开PrEP药物的医生?

现在任何医生都可以开PrEP药物。由于服用PrEP药物的人需在做资格评估和持续筛检时讨论自己的性史,所以选择医生时,找到一位可以让你直言不讳的医生是至关重要的。

如果你要找可以给你开PrEP药物的医生,或者想在看医生之前找人谈谈PrEP药物,你可以致电新南威尔士州性健康信息专线(NSW Sexual Health Info Link),电话:1800 451 624

任何人都可以获得PrEP药物吗?

具有感染HIV风险的人可以获得PrEP药物。

对于男同性恋来说,风险标准可能包括:与不知道HIV状态的伴侣发生不戴套的性行为、有一个有HIV但尚未开始治疗的固定伴侣、最近肛门有淋病或衣原体等性传播感染(STI)、偶尔参加药爱派对。

如果你符合以上任何标准,就应该考虑服用PrEP药物;如果不确定的话,请向医生查询。

可能存在一些情况,其中有人可能未达到这项标准,而医生给他们开了PrEP药物,但这需要跟医生讨论。

我有意服用PrEP,需要做什么?

如果你考虑开始服用PrEP药物,你需要与医生或性健康诊所预约。在第一次预约期间,他们将讨论你是否有资格获得PrEP药物,完成所需要的HIV和STI检测,并检查你的肾功能。

处方会在完成所需要的检测之后为你开好,然后你可以去药店取药。请务必要记住:PrEP不只是一种药片,还是一个计划,这个计划要求你定期去看医生,每三个月做一次HIV和STI检测。在一个月后,你还需要做一次跟进预约,再做一次HIV检测。在此之后,你每三个月需要做一次预约来获得新的处方。

我没有Medicare,这对我意味着什么呢?

如果你没有Medicare,就没有资格通过药品补贴计划(PBS)获得PrEP补贴药物。不妨考虑个人从海外购买,这可能是一种廉宜的选择。许多海外购买选择提供非专利品牌的PrEP药物,价格与通过PBS 计划获得的有补贴的PrEP药物价格差不多。你仍然需要澳大利亚医生出具的处方,可能需要支付医生诊费或要求做的检测的费用。若要通过个人从海外购买方式获得PrEP药物,建议你浏览PrEP Access Now网站pan.org.au

如果我想自己从海外购买PrEP药物怎么办?

如果你想现在就获得PrEP药物,可以使用我们的获得PrEP的选择资料中所含的信息,或联系新南威尔士州性健康信息专线,电话:1800 451 624

了解PREP的概况

你对PrEP可能有很多问题,以下语言的须知解答了最常问到的一些问题:

如果你希望用自己的语言进行查询,请致电口笔译服务处 (TIS)电话131 450并要求找口译员,然后请他们致电新南威尔士州性健康信息专线 1800 451 624

PrEP For HIV Prevention

The pill that keeps you HIV negative

PrEP is an exciting biomedical development that is already playing a vital role in our efforts to ending HIV, and since being listed on the PBS (Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme) in April 2018, just about anyone can now get it!

What is PrEP?

PrEP is an acronym that stands for pre-exposure prophylaxis. It involves HIV negative people taking antiretroviral drugs to protect them and prevent HIV infection. When used as prescribed, PrEP is highly effective at preventing HIV infection.

Unlike PEP (post-exposure prophylaxis), which is taken after a potential exposure to HIV, at least the first dose of PrEP needs to be taken before a potential HIV exposure.

To take PrEP you must be HIV negative so a HIV test should always be performed before you start taking PrEP. You should also test for other STIs (sexually transmitted infections), such as chlamydia, gonorrhoea and syphilis, and have your kidney health assessed. Your PrEP prescriber will go through this with you at your first appointment. Following that, you’ll need to have a check-up every three months.

Importantly, while PrEP is effective at protecting you from HIV, it does not protect you from other STIs. If you are concerned about STIs, consider using other prevention methods, like condoms.

Who is PrEP for?

PrEP is recommended for people who are considered at risk of getting HIV. You may be at risk if you:

  • Are a man (cis or trans) or transgender woman who has anal sex with other men and does not always use a condom
  • Have a heterosexual partner who has HIV and you want to have a baby
  • Have a partner who is HIV positive but has not achieved an undetectable viral load, and you don’t always use a condom
  • Are a person who injects drugs

Daily, On-demand or Periodic – how should I take PrEP?

When PrEP was first introduced, taking it on a daily basis was the recommendation for everyone. Since then, research has found there to be new ways for taking PrEP that are just as effective as daily dosing.

Today, PrEP can be taken daily, on-demand or periodically. Same pill – just a different way of taking it.

Daily PrEP

Taking PrEP daily is an option that anyone can use. It’s simple – you take 1 pill every day for lasting protection.

Daily PrEP can suit people for a range of reasons. If you want to be protected from HIV without having to anticipate when your next sexual encounter may be, if you have a generally busy sex life or if you just prefer the structure of routine dosing, daily PrEP can work for you.

Starting daily PrEP safely will vary depending on how you identify.

For cis guys who have sex with guys:

  • Take 2 pills (double dose) at least 2 hours before sex, then
  • Take 1 pill every 24 hours after the double dose

For everyone else, such as trans people who have sex with other guys:

  • Take 1 pill daily for a full 7 days before sex, then
  • Take 1 pill every 24 hours after the double dose

On-demand PrEP

Currently, on-demand PrEP is only recommended for cis men who have sex with other men as there is not enough research to support its efficacy in other groups.

On-demand PrEP can suit guys who infrequently have sex, or who can plan or delay sex (by at least 2 hours). If the amount of sex you are having doesn’t warrant taking daily medication or if you are concerned about side-effects, then on-demand PrEP could be good for you.

For on-demand PrEP, the timing for taking your doses is extremely important.

To take PrEP on-demand, use the 2-1-1 dosing schedule:

  • Take 2 pills (double dose) between 2-24 hours before sex, then
  • Take 1 pill 24 hours after the double dose, then
  • Take 1 pill another 24 hours after that

If you continue to have sex, then keep taking 1 pill daily until two days after your last hook-up.

If you are considering PrEP on-demand, discuss it with your prescribing doctor and make sure you understand the timing of the pills.

Periodic PrEP

If you don’t want or need to take PrEP long-term, then periodic PrEP could be a good alternative. With Periodic PrEP, you take one pill once a day over a period time for when you want to protect yourself from HIV. It can be however long or short that works for you – usually when you think you might be having lots of sex.

Depending on how you identify, using periodic PrEP will vary.

For cis guys who have sex with guys, to start:

  • Take 2 pills (double dose) at least 2 hours before sex, then
  • Take 1 pill every 24 hours after the double dose

Then to stop, after your last hook-up:

  • Take 1 pill daily for 2 days

For everyone else such as trans people who hook-up with other guys, to start:

  • Take 1 pill daily for a full 7 days before sex

Then to stop, after your last hook-up:

  • Take 1 pill daily for 28 days

Where and how can I access PrEP?

Access PrEP through the Australian Healthcare System

If you are an Australian resident with a current Medicare card you can access PrEP through the PBS at a subsidised cost. This means any doctor or general practitioner can write a script for PrEP which you can take to any pharmacy for dispensing (collection) or visit the ‘PrEP Access Now’ website for other cost-effective options. Keep in mind you may have to pay for your doctor’s visit if it’s not a bulk billing service.

Access PrEP through personal importation

If you are not able to access PrEP through Medicare, another option is to purchase a generic version of the drug from a reliable overseas supplier. You still require a script from a doctor before ordering online. There are multiple suppliers who export PrEP into Australia at a range of costs. Visit the ‘PrEP Access Now’ website for more information. You can buy a few months of PrEP at a time to save on shipping costs, and make sure to have a look at different websites to get a good price. There are lots of different medications that you can buy online, so be sure that the medication you order is the same one that is on your script that the doctor has written for you.

How much does PrEP cost through the PBS?

Anyone with a Medicare card and a script from their doctor will have to make a PBS co-payment at the pharmacy when collecting their PrEP, which is the same for all other medications accessed via the PBS. The maximum cost per script increased from $40.30 to $41.00, while for concession holders, the cost increased from $6.50 to $6.60 per script.

More Frequently Asked Questions about PrEP

How do I find a doctor who can prescribe PrEP?

Any doctor can now prescribe PrEP. When choosing a doctor, it is important you find someone who you feel comfortable discussing your sexual history with as this is required for the eligibility and ongoing screening for those who take PrEP.

If you’re searching for a doctor who can prescribe PrEP for you or want to talk to someone about PrEP before you see your doctor, you can call the NSW Sexual Health Info Link on 1800 451 624.

Can anyone get PrEP?

PrEP is available for people who are at risk of acquiring HIV.

For gay and bisexual men the risk criteria can include having condomless sex with a partner who doesn’t know their HIV status, having a regular partner with HIV who is not on treatment, having a recent STI in your arse such as gonorrhoea or chlamydia or if you occasionally party and play.

There may be cases where someone can be prescribed PrEP without meeting these criteria, but this will require a discussion with a doctor.

I am interested in taking PrEP, what do I need to do?

If you are thinking about starting PrEP, you will need to make an appointment with a doctor or sexual health clinic. During your first appointment they will discuss your eligibility for PrEP, complete the required testing for HIV and STIs, and check your kidney function.

Once you have completed the required testing, you will be given a script which you can collect from a pharmacy. It’s important to remember that PrEP is more than just a pill; it is a program which requires regular doctor visits and HIV and STI testing every three months. You will also need to make a follow-up appointment in one month for another HIV test. After that, you will need an appointment every three months to keep getting your prescription.

I don’t have Medicare, what does that mean for me?

If you don’t have access to Medicare, while you will not be eligible to receive subsidised PrEP via the PBS, you can consider personal importation which can be an affordable alternative. Many overseas importation options offer generic PrEP at a price comparable to subsidised PrEP through the PBS. You will still need a script from an Australian doctor and there may be a cost associated with your appointment or required testing. To access PrEP via personal importation, we recommend visiting the PrEPAccessNow website pan.org.au.

What if I want to import PrEP myself?

If you want to access PrEP now, you can find out more by using the information contained in our PrEP Access Options resource or alternatively you could contact the NSW Sexual Health Info link on 1800 451 624.

Know the Facts about PrEP

You may have lots of questions about PrEP, these factsheets in the following languages below answer some of the most common ones asked:

If you would like to speak to someone in your own language, call the Translating and Interpreting Service (TIS) on 131 450 to ask for an interpreter and then ask them to call the NSW Sexual Health Infolink on 1800 451 624.