没有做好治疗准备?

如果你最近确诊患有HIV,或者确诊已有一段时间,可能还在适应HIV对日常生活的影响。

我们非常理解。这一开始可能令人感到不安,但有很多策略可以帮你过上更健康的生活。其中之一便是及早开始治疗

你很可能已经跟医生(或甚至朋友或伴侣)谈过治疗的事情,但可能有所顾虑。事实上,因为担心治疗会如何影响生活以及长期健康,你可能想尽可能延迟开始治疗的时间。这也是完全正常的,这可能是因为你读过或听过一些错误、过时的信息。

但情况已经改变,特别是过去十年。如今,现有的治疗选择让HIV阳性男子能够与HIV阴性男子一样,过上长久而又健康的生活。如果你可以达到UVL(检测不出来的病毒量),就肯定不会传播这种病毒。这是一个好消息,不是吗?

以下是你对治疗可能会有的一些常见顾虑,并且提供了一些信息来消除你可能存在的误解。

我不确定应该何时开始治疗

世界各地的研究表明,就算不立即治疗尽早治疗也可以提高预期寿命,改善健康,预防严重疾病,与延缓开始治疗的人相比,预防率高出50%以上。因此,尽快开始治疗十分关键

费用太贵

在澳大利亚,我们有幸拥有为HIV患者提供支持的优质服务和健康系统。有些HIV患者担心治疗费用,但澳大利亚的药物费用获得政府补贴 - 如今,生活在新南威尔士州并有Medicare卡的澳大利亚人可以免费获得治疗。

在其它州,你可以与当地的艾滋病理事会或阳性人士支持机构联系,了解当地的治疗和价格选择,此外还有多个计划和机构可以提供HIV治疗费用方面的帮助。

我每天服的药片太多

你可能担心自己会有的治疗组合太复杂,需要在不便的时间服用许多药片。但如今,现代治疗远没有过去那么复杂。事实上,许多HIV阳性人士每天服药一、两次,每次服用几个药片,有些人每天只需服药一次,一次服用一个药片。

我担心副作用

当今使用的治疗药物副作用极小,毒性小得多,对HIV的疗效要大得多。即便有副作用,通常只在治疗开始时才有,而且在大多数情况下较为轻微,持续时间不长,并且易于控制。

因为在治疗和护理方面得到这些和其它改善,如今有更多HIV患者接受治疗。而且接受治疗的人也反映说,他们的生活比以往更健康、更开心。

Not Ready to Treat?

If you’ve recently been diagnosed with HIV, or if you’ve been diagnosed for a while, you still may be adjusting to how living with HIV affects your daily life.

We get it. It can be an unsettling experience at first, but there are lots of strategies to help you live a healthier life. One of those is to start treatment early.

You’ve most probably already had a chat to your doctor (or even a friend or partner) about treatment, and you may even have some reservations. In fact, you may even be thinking to delay starting treatment for as long as possible, because you’re worried about how it will impact your life, and how it will affect your health over time. That’s totally normal, too, and it’s most probably because you may have read or heard some incorrect and outdated information.

But things have changed, especially over the last decade. Treatment options available mean that poz guys can now live long and healthy lives just as neg guys and if you can achieve a UVL (undetectable viral load), that means you can be sure you won’t transmit the virus. That’s good news, right?

Here are some common concerns you may have towards treatment, and the information to clear up any misconceptions you may have.

I’M NOT SURE WHEN TO START TREATMENT

Research from all over the world shows that early, if not immediate, treatment increases life expectancy, improves health and prevents serious illness by more than 50% compared to those who delay starting treatment. Therefore, starting treatment as soon as possible is crucial.

IT’S TOO EXPENSIVE

Here in Australia, we’re lucky to have high quality services and a health system that supports people living with HIV. Sure, some people with HIV are concerned about the cost of treatments, but the cost of medication in Australia is subsidised by the Government. Treatment is now free to Australians living in NSW who have a Medicare card.

In other states, you can contact your local AIDS council or Positive organisations for local treatment and price options, and there are also several schemes and organisations that can help with the cost of HIV treatments.

I HAVE TOO MANY PILLS EVERY DAY

You may be worried about taking complex treatment combinations that require many pills to be taken at strange times. These days, though, modern treatments aren’t anywhere as complicated. In fact, many HIV positive people take a few tablets once or twice a day, and some take only one pill once a day.

I’M CONCERNED ABOUT THE SIDE EFFECTS

Treatments used today have minimal side effects, are far less toxic and are much more effective against HIV. Side effects, if they occur, are usually only experienced at the beginning of treatment, and in most cases, are relatively mild, don’t last for very long and are easily managed.

These and other improvements in treatment and care have resulted in more people with HIV taking treatment. Moreover, people undergoing treatment report to be living healthier and happier lives than ever before.