及早治疗

为什么及早治疗十分关键?

我们希望确保每个男子都拥有最佳的机会,过上健康的生活。

如果你被诊断感染了HIV,尽早开始治疗是首先应采取的一些步骤之一。为什么呢?治疗可以确保你的免疫系统健康,降低因HIV而引发疾病的风险。

治疗还可以将你的血液中HIV的‘病毒量’(即HIV病毒数量)降至检测不出来的水平。两项国际研究(PARTNEROpposites Attract)表明,接受治疗幷具有检测不出来的病毒量(UVL)的HIV阳性男子不会将HIV传给伴侣。

HIV治疗有了什么改变?

在HIV护理早期,因为治疗方法不多,HIV感染者及其医生往往延缓治疗,直到HIV感染者的CD4细胞计数降到200左右为止。基本而言,在这一阶段,免疫系统已经非常弱。

当时的治疗会引起副作用,因此人们认为CD4细胞计数降到200左右才是开始治疗的最佳时机。但时至今日,抗逆转录病毒(ARV)治疗更为有效,人体的耐受性要好得多,副作用也更少。可供选择的治疗方法也多了很多,因此你可以找到最适合自己的治疗方法。

最关键的治疗时机就在确诊之后

START研究结果表明,及早治疗可以增进健康,提高预期寿命,预防包括癌症、肾病和肝脏疾病在内的严重疾病,与延缓开始治疗时间的人相比,预防率高出50%以上。重要的是,这项研究的结果证实,立即治疗不会带来任何损害。

此外,在感染HIV的初期阶段,病毒量非常高,也就是说传播HIV的风险更大。其实,不知道自己患有HIV的人往往在感染后不久传染给别人,这种可能性要大得多。

如果你确诊患有HIV,及早治疗不但可以让你保持健康,而且还可以确保伴侣安全,做到两全其美。

及早治疗,终结HIV

如果你最近确诊患有HIV,我们非常乐意为你提供支持。ACON为新近确诊的人提供服务,通常在一个工作日内便可为你安排受过培训的辅导员

我们致力在2020年之前终结HIV。如果你及早治疗,不仅可以照顾好自己的健康,而且还可以帮助防止HIV传播。

Treat Early

WHY EARLY TREATMENT IS CRUCIAL

We want to ensure every guy has the best chance of living a healthy life.

If you are diagnosed with HIV, one of the first steps you should take is to start treatment as early as possible. Why? Well, we know that treatment keeps your immune system healthy and reduces the risk of developing health conditions associated with HIV.

Treatment can also lower the viral load of HIV in your blood to virtually undetectable levels, and research from two international studies, PARTNER and Opposites Attract show that HIV positive men who are on treatment and have an undetectable viral load (UVL) do not transmit HIV to their partners.

What’s changed?

In the early days of HIV care when only a few treatments were available, people with HIV and their doctors would often delay treatment until someone’s CD4 count fell to around 200, basically, to a point where the immune system was very weak.

At the time, this was thought to be the best moment to start treatment because the only treatments available were known to cause side effects. But these days, anti-retroviral (ARV) treatments are more effective, are far better tolerated by the body and with many more to choose from you can find what’s best for you.

The most critical time to treat is right after diagnosis

Findings from the START study have shown that early, if not immediate, treatment increases health and life expectancy, and prevents serious illness including cancer, renal and liver disease by more than 50% compared to those who delay starting treatment. Importantly, the study results confirm that there is no harm associated with immediate treatment.

Further, in the early stages after contracting HIV your viral load is very high and that means you’re at greater risk of transmitting HIV. HIV is actually much more likely to be transmitted by people who don’t know they’ve got it – often, soon after they themselves have been infected.

So, if you’ve been diagnosed with HIV, early treatment will keep you healthy and your partners safe. Win-win.

Treat Early to End HIV

If you have been recently diagnosed with HIV, feel free to get in touch with us. ACON’s service for newly diagnosed gives you access to a trained counsellor, usually within one working day.

We’re committed to ending HIV by 2020, and by treating early, you are looking after your health, as well as helping to prevent HIV transmission.